Use code VOTE10 for 10% off today! Free domestic shipping for orders $50+

5 Female Authors Who Write About Nature

Lately I have been thinking about books that inspire me to continue practicing Earth conservation. It is important that we look for positive sources of inspiration to keep moving forward toward the common goal of protecting Mother Earth. I compiled a list of five nature appreciation books to dive into, but before I do, let us talk about another way to save trees...

GO PAPERLESS

Books in paper form carries its own special magic, but these days many of us aim to take it a step further. Personally, I prefer to read from the Kindle Paperwhite digital e-reader. Newer models offer 2x the storage space, which provides more books to read in one convenient space.  Read thousands of books without the guilt of harming trees.

Amazon Kindle Paperwhite is on sale for Valentine's Day - Business Insider

1. PILGRIM AT TINKER CREEK

Annie Dillard's personal narrative highlights one year's exploration on foot in the Virginia region through which Tinker Creek runs. In the summer, she stalks muskrats in the creek and contemplates wave mechanics; in the fall, she watches a monarch butterfly migration and dreams of Arctic caribou. She tries to con a coot; she collects pond water and examines it under a microscope. She unties a snake skin, witnesses a flood, and plays King of the Meadow with a field of grasshoppers. The result is an exhilarating tale of nature and its seasons.

Pilgrim at Tinker Creek (Harper Perennial Modern Classics): Dillard, Annie:  9780061233326: Amazon.com: Books

2. WITNESS TREE

Lynda V. Mapes gives us an intimate look at one majestic hundred-year-old oak tree through four seasons as well as the reality of the effects of climate change.

The oak is a living timeline and witness to climate change. While stark in its implications, Witness Tree is a beautiful and lyrical read, rich in detail, sweeps of weather, history, people, and animals. It is a story rooted in hope, beauty, wonder, and the possibility of renewal in people's connection to nature.

 3. LAB GIRL

Geobiologist Hope Jahren has spent her life studying trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Lab Girl is her revelatory treatise on plant life—but it is also a celebration of the lifelong curiosity, humility, and passion that drive every scientist. She extends the mantle of scientist to each one of her readers, inviting us to join her in observing and protecting our environment. Warm, luminous, compulsively readable, Lab Girl vividly demonstrates the mountains that we can move when love and work come together. Hope Jahren wrote Lab GirlNational Bestseller, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Autobiography, and a New York Times Notable Book, this book is incredible in so many ways. 

Lab Girl: Jahren, Hope: 9781101873724: Amazon.com: Books

4. LIKE A TREE

This is a powerful and poetic call to ecological and feminist activism. It is a masterful work by internationally known author and speaker Jean Shinoda Bolen who provides an insightful look into the fusion of ecological issues and global gender politics. Read Like a Tree today.

 Like a Tree: How Trees, Women, and Tree People Can Save the Planet (Tree  Book, for Fans of Crones Don't Whine and The Hidden Life of Trees): Bolen,  Jean Shinoda: 9781573244886: Amazon.com:

5. GATHERING MOSS

Robin Wall Kimmerer blends her understanding of the sciences as a professor of environmental and forest biology with her heritage as a member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation. Her first book, Gathering Moss: A Natural and Cultural History of Mosses, won the impressive John Burroughs Medal for nature writing. Kimmerer connects nature with indigenous viewpoints that invite us to reflect on our relationship with plants, animals, and the land. 

MAKING CONNECTIONS

While hiking with her husband in the forests of northern California, silversmith and designer, Kat, sourced her inspiration to create the Acorn necklace. It was first molded from wax with her hands while she lived in their Venice Beach home. KinThree Co casts pendants in the United States.

PAY IT FORWARD

Do you have an eco-inspired, conservation-focused book to share? Leave a comment below or send us an email at kinthreeco [at] gmail [com] today. Thank you for reading, and continue to inspire change in others.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lauryn Charlotte is an aspiring children's book author and mom of two boys. She is a human rights activist and Earth conservationist. Lauryn writes for KinThree Co to continue practicing her craft.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published